First of Many Learnerships

River Bioscience Learnership Agreement

First of Many Learnerships

Note from the MD

March saw the end of our financial year and for River Bioscience it has been a fantastic year. At X-SIT the recapture numbers and ratios in the valleys are the best ever recorded so also a reason for celebration.

Finding the optimum production methodology and release arrangement by valley and crop for SIT is now a key focus of testing as we go into the last few months of this SIT season. Research results related to improved flight ability in colder temperatures and longevity are underway.

On the RB side, agent training and planning for next season will be the key activities as we go into the winter months.

RBX says YES to Inclusive Development

RBX has been working towards setting up programmes with key stakeholders, collaborators and the communities we operate in to find ways to ensure we are doing our part to contribute to upliftment, transformation and building a sustainable future for all. In  March 2019  River Bioscience entered into Its first Learnership Agreement in collaboration with the Centre for  Biological Control (CBC) led by Prof Martin Hill at Rhodes University. The CBC is a strategic partner for River Bioscience in association with Citrus Research International.

The recipient of the Learnership is Bongiswa Ngxanga who is originally from Masiphumelele in the Western Cape and holds a National Diploma and BTech in Environmental Management. Bongiswa will be based at the CBC under Dr Candice Coombes focusing on the testing of a new artificial diet for a moth that has strategic importance in RBs virus portfolio as well as looking at other microbial control options for soil-dwelling life stages. Bongiswa will be furthering her education and skills set through a few separate short courses over the year and will also spend some time at RBX  facilities to see how a commercial research unit works.

RBX Group Birthdays in April:

Winston Adoons, Lazani Barnard, Warren Botha, Martin Fransman, Monrezo Meyer, Nceba Ngquse, Meloise Paulse, Zelmari Persens, Eon Resandt, Enrich Scholtz, Ruben Terblanche, Redawaan Valentyn, Grayzill van Wyk, Angelique Van Zyl.